Putnam Road Bridge/Stone Road

This reconstructed bridge (completed in 1999) crosses the Five Mile River and connects Putnam, River and Stone Road. The stone house dates back to 1820 (one of few in the region and is the most visible remains of a factory complex which was destroyed by fire in 1861. Foundations for tenement housing and the factory are still visible. In 1970, the entire site was named to the National Register of Historic Places as an Archeological site. From here to Putnam, the Five Mile River hosts a unique variety of ponds, wetlands and rolling terrain in which mink, fishers, eagles, pileated woodpeckers, great horned owls, beaver, even the occasional bear and moose have been seen.